Quick Verdict

  • The Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Cardⓘ wins for online shopping due to its 6% reward rate in that category.
  • The IDFC First Millennia Cardⓘ is better for general everyday spending and offers domestic lounge access.
  • The IDFC First card is cheaper to hold with no joining or annual fees, unlike the Shoppers Stop HDFC card which charges Rs 299 for both.
  • Pick the IDFC First Millennia card if you want a no-fee card with lounge access and moderate rewards. Choose the Shoppers Stop HDFC card if you shop heavily online and can justify the fee with category spend.

Side by Side

DetailIDFC First Millennia Card ⓘShoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Card ⓘ
Annual feeNil (lifetime free)Rs 299
Joining feeNil (lifetime free)Rs 299
Fee waiver on spendNot statedNot stated
Reward rate0.5% base0.5% base, 6% online category
Reward typepointspoints
Domestic lounge4 per year (Rs 20,000 monthly spend gate)None
International loungeNoneNone
Forex markup3.5%3.5%
Best suited forlifetime-free, first-card, shoppingshopping, lifetime-free

Rewards Compared

On a Rs 10,000 spend, both the IDFC First Millennia Cardⓘ and the Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Cardⓘ earn Rs 50 worth of points at their base reward rates of 0.5%. However, the Shoppers Stop HDFC card offers a significant advantage on online spends with a 6% reward rate, translating to Rs 600 on Rs 10,000 spent online, making it a strong choice for frequent online shoppers. The IDFC First Millennia card does not provide such elevated category rewards but compensates with other benefits like lounge access.

The difference in category rewards is stark: while the Shoppers Stop HDFC card targets online spenders with a high 6% rate, the IDFC First card remains a straightforward option with a flat 0.5% return across all spends. This makes the IDFC First card more predictable but less lucrative for category-specific shopping.

Fees Compared

The IDFC First Millennia card has no joining or annual fees, making it genuinely free to hold for life. The Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Card levies a joining fee and an annual fee of Rs 299 each. There is no stated fee waiver threshold for either card, so these fees apply regardless of spend.

To cover the Rs 299 annual fee on the Shoppers Stop HDFC card purely from base rewards, one must spend around Rs 59,800 annually on non-category spends, as per the derived figures. However, if a user spends online frequently and earns 6% back, the fee can be offset much faster. The IDFC First card has no such break-even considerations since it is free.

Which One Should You Pick

Choose the IDFC First Millennia Cardⓘ if you want a no-fee card with modest rewards and complimentary domestic lounge access. It is ideal for first-time cardholders or those who prefer a simple, lifetime-free card without worrying about fee waivers or complicated reward structures. Skip this card if you want premium travel benefits or international lounge access.

Opt for the Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Cardⓘ if you are an avid online shopper who can exploit the 6% category rewards enough to justify the Rs 299 fees. It also suits those who shop frequently at Shoppers Stop stores and value the welcome voucher and Silver Edge Membership. Avoid this card if your spend is mostly offline or if you want to avoid annual fees.

In conclusion, the IDFC First Millennia card is the safer, no-cost option for general use and lounge access, while the Shoppers Stop HDFC card suits category-focused shoppers who maximize online spend rewards.

What to Check Before You Apply

  • Confirm any caps on the 6% online reward rate for the Shoppers Stop HDFC card.
  • Understand the redemption process and value of points for both cards.
  • Check if the fee waiver requires any specific spend beyond just paying the fee.
  • Note that both cards charge a 3.5% forex markup, which is standard but costly for foreign spends.
  • The IDFC First card's domestic lounge access requires a monthly Rs 20,000 spend gate, so verify your eligibility.

FAQ

What is the forex markup fee on these cards?+
Both cards charge a 3.5% forex markup on foreign currency transactions, which is Rs 3,500 for Rs 1,00,000 spent abroad.
Does the IDFC First Millennia Card offer any lounge access?+
Yes, it offers 4 domestic lounge visits per year, but you must spend Rs 20,000 monthly to avail this benefit.
Is there an annual fee waiver on the Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Card?+
No fee waiver details are stated, so the Rs 299 joining and annual fees apply regardless of spend.
What rewards do I get on regular spends with these cards?+
Both cards offer a base reward rate of 0.5%, which equals Rs 50 for every Rs 10,000 spent.
Who should avoid the Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Credit Card?+
Those who do not shop online often or want to avoid paying annual fees should avoid this card.